ZAP innovation hall opened on Zernike Campus › Campus Groningen

ZAP innovation hall opened on Zernike Campus

ZAP innovation hall opened on Zernike Campus

ZAP innovation hall opened on Zernike Campus

Mon, 15 October 2018

Campus Groningen is enriched with another testing ground: the new ZAP innovation hall has been officially opend on Wednesday October 10 in the presence of Patrick Brouns, representative of the province of Groningen and Henk Pijlman, chairman of the Board of the Hanze University of Applied Sciences. ZAP fulfils the wish of the business community in the Northern Netherlands. The innovation hall gives companies the opportunity to scale up from the level of laboratory (milimeter en miligram) to pilot plant level (liter and kilogram).


In this new facility for biobased research entrepreneurs, researchers and students will be working to make innovative products from biomass starting from the academic year 2018/2019. ZAP (Zernike Advanced Processing) Groningen is an innovative work-learn environment that includes greenhouses, laboratories and high-tech equipment. Unique for the region is the supercritical CO2 equipment. With this method one can obtain sustainable ingredients from substances such as plants without chemical agents. These ingredients are then used as a raw material for medicines or cosmetics.

About ZAP

ZAP Groningen offers entrepreneurs the facilities to test their products on a larger scale and to develop them into a market-ready product. They do this in collaboration with researchers (from the knowledge institutions) and students from various study programmes, who in turn gain relevant research and work experience.

ZAP Groningen is set up to train young professionals and to facilitate research for SMEs and start-ups. All this combined is expected to create high-quality jobs for the region. Hanze University of Applied Sciences, Groningen is the lead partner and, together with the province of Groningen and SNN, is the main investor of ZAP Groningen. There is close collaboration with Noorderpoort and the University of Groningen.

Participating companies include Avebe, SuikerUnie, Akzo Nobel, Imenz, Feyecon, Syncom, Telson, Ten Kate Vetten, Exter Aroma and Koopmans Meel.